Website Accessibility Audits

Website accessibility addresses the physical limitations to visitors based on 4 main disabilities:

  1. blindness
  2. cognitive impairments (like dyslexia)
  3. deafness
  4. motor impairment (like paralysis)

(The goal of website usability is generally to satisfy 95% of site visitors. Usability basically means: how easy a website is to use.)

The Census Bureau estimates that almost 1 in 5 Americans has a disability; and half of those disabilities are severe.

There are two main initiatives that set guidelines for accessibility conformance:

  1. Section 508
    An amendment to the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, is a law that applies to Federal agencies only. Conformance to Section 508 for non-federal agencies and agencies that do not contract with the Federal government is voluntary.
  2. The World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG).
    Conformance to WCAG is strictly voluntary. There are three levels of conformance, from Single A to Triple A – each with higher levels of accessibility.

Contact me to receive an Accessibility Audit of your website (starting at $640).

Learn More